Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School System Names Teacher of the Year | Local News

Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools named Abi Woodson, a fourth-grade teacher at Speas Elementary School, as Teacher of the Year.

Woodson has been teaching for 15 years and has worked at Speas since 2012. Carrie French of Moore Elementary and Nicole Wooten of Caleb’s Creek Elementary were the other two finalists.

Debra Gladstone, Principal of Mineral Springs Elementary and Middle Schools, was named Principal of the Year. It has been with Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools since 2000. Angie Choplin of Lewisville Elementary and Donald Wyatt of Sedge Garden Elementary were the other finalists.

The Vice Principal of the Year award went to Samantha Fitzgerald of Lewisville Elementary, where she has worked since 2016. She joined Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools in 2013 as a teacher. Tamatha Fullerwinder of Moore Elementary and Kendra Scott of Ashley Academy were also finalists.

Sandra Shropshire, Financial Secretary/Principal at East Forsyth Secondary School, has been named Classified Employee of the Year. Shropshire has been in East Forsyth for 15 years. The other finalists were Margo Cochran from Northwest Middle and Angie Grace from Jefferson Elementary.

People also read…

The 12 finalists, three in each category, were presented at a banquet Thursday night as part of the school system’s “Core Awards.”

This annual event highlights and celebrates employees who are exceptional educators and who live the district’s core values ​​– fairness, student-centeredness, accountability, integrity, high expectations and collaboration.

There were over 150 nominees for the awards. The winners were announced at the banquet.

[email protected] 336-727-7366 @fdanielWSJ

Jeremy S. McLain