Carroll County School System Announces New Principal and Vice Principals

Dr Cynthia Beers

The Carroll County School Board voted to approve a new principal for Temple Middle School and five new vice principals at the Thursday, April 21, board meeting.

“We are excited about these new assignments for current Carroll County leaders, and we also welcome new leaders to our 24STRONG team,” Superintendent Scott Cowart said. “Each of these administrators is a proven leader who is committed to our goal of positively changing the lives of our students.”

Dr. Cynthia Beers will be principal of Temple Middle School from June. Dr. Beers most recently served as the district-level secondary education support coordinator, but has five years of experience as an assistant principal at the middle and high school levels. His bachelor’s, master’s, honors, and doctoral degrees are all from the University of West Georgia (UWG), along with a graduate certificate in instructional leadership from UWG. She is a two-time STAR teacher, received an AP Champion award in 2016, served on Governor Nathan Deal’s legislative task force for education reform, and completed the GAEL Aspiring Principals program. She and her husband, Mike, have two sons.

Dr Cynthia Beers
The Board also approved five new deputy directors for the system.

Dr. Tyson Askew will be vice-principal at Bowdon Elementary School. He is currently Director of Music Education at Heard County Schools.

Chip Stephens will be assistant principal at Bowdon Middle School. He currently teaches science at BMS.

Erica Keel will be vice-principal at Glanton-Hindsman Elementary School. She is currently a guidance counselor at Temple High School.

Ashley Tolbert will be the vice principal of Ithica Elementary School. She is currently the Chief Instructional Support Specialist at Sand Hill Elementary School.

Shana Hartsfield will be the vice principal of Mount Zion Elementary School. She currently holds the position of Chief Teaching Support Specialist at MZES.

They will all take up their new duties for the 2022-2023 school year.

Jeremy S. McLain